Mark 4

Arlin Sorensen's Thoughts on Scripture

Mark 4 is a whole lot of Jesus teaching about farming.  He begins talking about the parable of the sower.  He speaks about the four different kinds of soils that God’s truth falls onto:

  1. Hard ground (the path)
  2. Rocky ground
  3. Thorny ground
  4. Good ground

With each type of soil, he describes the outcome:

  1. Hard ground (the path) – the birds devoured it
  2. Rocky ground – scorched by the sun and withered away
  3. Thorny ground – choked out
  4. Good ground – grew and increased and yielded “thirtyfold and sixtyfold and  a hundredfold

The disciples ask why Jesus teaches in parables.  He tells them “so that they may indeed see but not perceive, and may indeed hear but not understand, lest they should turn and be forgiven”.  The world was not ready to receive the truth yet.  But Jesus does give truth to His disciples, and around the…

View original post 270 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s