Matthew 5

Arlin Sorensen's Thoughts on Scripture

Matthew 5 contains the Sermon on the Mount – one of the most famous of all that Jesus delivered.  He gives us 8 beatitudes (and a ninth that is directed specifically to the Disciples – that are blessings to be given to someone for how they live.  Each Beatitude consists of two phrases: the condition and the result – and that result leads to happiness which is the Latin word from which Beatitude comes.

  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven
  • Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted
  • Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth
  • Blessed are those who hunger and thirst  for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied
  • Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy
  • Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God
  • Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be…

View original post 582 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s